

District 8 Toastmasters

Dist8tm.org

Minutes

District 8 District Council Meeting Saturday, April 18, 2023 • 09:00AM Virtual (via Zoom)

(RED are absent)

Attendees: Karen Leingang, DD; David Kincade, IPDD; Tom Coscia, LM; Sarah Van Meter, PQD; Art Stanze CGD; Rebecca Jordan FM; Yolandea Wood, DT, DAM; Lisa Campbell, DAD; Jackie Kam-Blackard, DBD; Herman Koester, DCD; Willie Blue, DED; Rhonda Green DFD; Aiden McDonnell, AD1; Karen Dew, AD2; Kelly Lawson, AD3; Brendan Akos, AD4; Charice Manor, AD6; Raquel DeSouza, A7D; Art Anderson, AD11; Cheryl Hammond, AD12; Mary JL Rowe, AD14; Rahul Joglekar AD15; Teri Orban AD16; Shannon Dunphy-Lazo, AD17; Paula Williams, AD18; Tammy Ablan, AD20; Paul Jimenez, AD22; Dwayne Miller, AD9; Linda Leasmean AD10;

Pres Marquetta Wise; Pres Farzana Chohan; Pres Sue Rankin; Pres David Kincade; Pres Richard Radasch; Pres Sandra Kardis; Pres James Adams; Pres MegLangland; Pres Rebecca Jordan; Pres Art Anderson; Pres Lawson Calhoun; Pres Sherry Nelson; Pres Debra Adams; Pres Lisa Collier; Pres Patti Howard; Pres Josephine Marino-Emde; Pres Tim Spezia; Pres Darren Broderick; Pres Sarah Van Meter; Pres Nate Randall; Pres Willie Blue; Pres Brendon Akos; Pres Pamela Rodney; Pres Elizabeth Link; Pres Debbie Young; Pres Michelle Sturdivant; Pres Sharon Holt; Pres Andrea Davidson; Pres Lemont Curry; Pres Evelyn Pearman; Pres RJ Stratton; Pres Maureen Kleekamp; Pres Neva Nichols; Pres Terri Orban; Pres Sharon Maddox

VPE Curt Evoy; VPE Tom Coscia; VPE Bret Nicolas; VPE Angela Breinin; VPE Aiden McDonnell; VPE Andrew Welter; VPE Kathy Berri; VPE Karl Jalkanen; VPE La Juanna Williams; VPE Sue Rankin; VPE Leslie Helig; VPE Joy Womac; VPE Paula Williams; VPE Lora Mather; VPE Mark Strothman; VPE Elaine Curry; VPE Marquetta Wise; VPE Jennifer Huck; VPE Jerry Chapman; VPE Eileen Lynch; VPE David Kincade;

Meeting Preliminaries

Call to Order & Opening: Karen Leingang, DD Meeting called to order at 09:03 AM Introduced the concept and purpose of "Unanimous Consent" and "Without Objection"

Confirmation of a Quorum: David Kincade, IPDD

Adoption of Agenda: Karen Leingang, DD Agenda adopted by unanimous consent (posted on the District 8 website)

Approval District Council Meeting 9/17 /2022 Minutes: Karen Leingang Approved without objection or amendments by unanimous consent (posted on the District 8 website and explained at start of meeting)

Page 1 of 3

Alignment Committee Report: Tim Spezia, Alignment Committee Chair

Shared the proposed new alignment of Areas and Districts for Toastmaster Year 2023-2024

District Leadership Committee Report: David Kincade DLC Chair

Shared the advised report from the DLC. The report was only an advisory since the DLC report was invalid

District Election: Karen Leingang DD

Ran the election for District offices for Toastmaster year 2023-2024. Since the DLC report was invalid, all candids for all offices ran from the floor. Winners of the contests are listed in **BOLD**

District Director **Rhonda Green,DTM** Sarah Van Meter

Program Quality Director Charice Manor

Club Growth Director Patti Howard, DTM Andrew Welter

Division A Karen Dew

Division B **Terri Orban**

Division C Dawnella Bowser Neva Nicols

Division E No Candidates

Division F Rahul Joglekar

District Finance Report Becky Jordan (Finance Manager) Provided current status of District Finance

Audit Committee Chair Report: Elaine Curry Audit Committee Chair

Provided status of the mid-year audit report for Toastmaster year 2022-2023.

District Finance Report Becky Jordan (Finance Manager)

Provided current status of District Finance

Directors: Club Growth Director: Art Stanze He shared PowerPoint for updates

Program Quality Director: Sarah Van Meter,

Provided PowerPoint slides for updates

District Director Announcements: Karen Leingang, DT

Shared PowerPoint slides for updates

New Business

There is no new business

Closing

Adjournment: Karen Leingang, DTM, DD Meeting adjournment at 11:45 AM