

District 8 Toastmasters

Dist8tm.org

Minutes

District 8 Executive Committee Meeting

Saturday, November 19, 2022 • 9:00AMVirtual (via Zoom)

Attendees: See participation chart below

Meeting Preliminaries

Tom Coscia, Logistics Manager opens meeting and starts recording.

Call to Order & Opening: Karen Leingang, DD

Meeting called to order at 09:02 AM

Adoption of Agenda: Karen Leingang, DD

Agenda adopted by unanimous consent (posted on the District 8 website)

Credentials Committee Report: David Kincade DTM IPDD

Confirmed we have a quorum (need 50%)

Approval DEC Meeting 08/27/2022 Minutes: Karen Leingang

A copy of the previous DEC Meeting minutes (posted on the District 8 website)

Asked if any changes or corrections. Karen Leingang stated without objections minutes approved as presented

Decision: Accept the DEC Meeting Minutes from 8/27/2022 meeting

Finance Report: Rebecca Jordan, Finance Manager

Rebecca reviewed a written report that will be posted on website. Shared written report. Not hearing any questions, submitted report.

Public Relations Report: Darlene Willman, DTM

Provided a verbal report. Reviewed interim meetings. Launched quarterly training, first recorded one was a Facebook life on how to write a Press Release. Next training, in January will be how to get guest from Google. Provided update on all social media platforms. Current focus promoting Winter TLI. Held first District 8 Community Engagement Team. Next, meeting will be December 16th at 1400. Discussed possible future events.

Division A Director: Lisa Campbell

Provided update on clubs including club visits, officers trained, and goals met toward Distinguished Club status.

Division B Director: Jackie Kam-Blackard

Provided update on clubs on club visits, officers trained and preparation for future events.

District C Director: Herman Koester

Provided update on officer trained, club visits and challenges. Provided dates on determined contest.

District E Director: Willie Blue

Unable to provide report.

District F Director: Rhonda Green

Provided update on setbacks and plans to aid.

Club Retention Chair: Annetta Works Salley

Shared PowerPoint presentation on club retention and club coach program.

Education Committee Chair: Andrew Welter

Provided updates on TLI electives and behind the scenes activities. Goal to make District 8 a resource for other districts and individuals.

Club Growth Director Report - Art Stanza, DTM, Club Growth Director

He shared PowerPoint slides. Expressed thanks for volunteers at STL BizExpo. Provided update on CGD beard. He shared names of Super Leader Contest. Requested more volunteers for Marketing Committee.

Program Quality Director Report – Sarah Van Meter, DTM, Program Quality Director

Verbally briefed updates and shared PowerPoint presentation. Will be posted on website. Clubs need to host International and Humorous Contest in January. Tom Coscia will be running Zoom Master classes.; limit to 5 persons for class.

District Director Announcements - Karen Leingang, District Director

Shared how to submit reimbursements on Concur. Shared PowerPoint presentation on state of the District.

Unfinished Business

There is no unfinished business

New Business

Cheryl Hammond moved that in areas with only 4 clubs, they send only contestant forward. David Kincaid seconded the motion. Discussion followed. This would apply to upper levels. Vote taken with raised hands. Motion carried.

Are areas able to pull award orders together to share shipping? TI does allow. Karen Leingang explained the procedures.

Reminder from page 8 in contest rule, any district leadership candidate is ineligible to serve as contest officials. This does not apply to those whose duties include running the contest.

Closing

Adjournment: Karen Leingang, DTM, DD

With no further business: Meeting adjournment at 11:03 AM

DEC Attendance					
NAME		DISTRICT ROLE	PRESENT		
Karen Leingang		District Director	Y		
Art Stanze		Club Growth Director	Υ		
Sarah Van Meter		Program Quality Director	Υ		
David Kincade		Immediate Past District Directo	r Y		
Yolandea Wood		Administration Manager	Υ		
Rebecca Jordan		Finance Manager	Υ		
Tom Coscia		Parliamentarian	Υ		
Lisa Campbell		Division A Director	Υ		
Jackie Kam-Blackard		Division B Director	Υ		
Herman Koester, DTM		Division C Director	Υ		
Willie Blue, DTM		Division E Director	N		
Rhonda Green		Division F Director	Υ		
Aiden McDonnell		Area 1 Director	Υ		
????		Area 2 Director	N		
Kelly Lawson		Area 3 Director	Υ		
Brendan Akos,		Area 4 Director	Υ		
Koreena Woodson		Area 5 Director	Υ		
Charice Manor		Area 6 Director	Υ		
Raquel DeSouza		Area 7 Director	Υ		
Lisa Campbell		Area 8 Director	N		
Margret Mathews		Area 9 Director	N		
Linda Leasman		Area 10 Director	Υ		
Herman Koester		Area 11 Director	Υ		
Cheryl Hammond		Area 12 Director	Y		
Shannon Geier		Area 13 Director	N		
Mary JL Rowe		Area 14 Director	Y		
7. Susan Boley		Area 16 Director	Y		
28. Peter Ogunniran		Area 17 Director	N		
29. Keith Jamerson		Area 18 Director	Υ		
0. JD Perper		Area 19 Director	Y		
Tammy Ablan	Area	a 20 Director	,		
	Art Stanze Sarah Van Meter David Kincade Yolandea Wood Rebecca Jordan Tom Coscia Lisa Campbell Jackie Kam-Blackard Herman Koester, DTM Willie Blue, DTM Rhonda Green Aiden McDonnell ???? Kelly Lawson Brendan Akos, Koreena Woodson Charice Manor Raquel DeSouza Lisa Campbell Margret Mathews Linda Leasman Herman Koester Cheryl Hammond Shannon Geier Mary JL Rowe Susan Boley Peter Ogunniran Keith Jamerson	Karen Leingang Art Stanze Sarah Van Meter David Kincade Yolandea Wood Rebecca Jordan Tom Coscia Lisa Campbell Jackie Kam-Blackard Herman Koester, DTM Willie Blue, DTM Rhonda Green Aiden McDonnell ???? Kelly Lawson Brendan Akos, Koreena Woodson Charice Manor Raquel DeSouza Lisa Campbell Margret Mathews Linda Leasman Herman Koester Cheryl Hammond Shannon Geier Mary JL Rowe Susan Boley Peter Ogunniran Keith Jamerson JD Perper	Karen Leingang Art Stanze Club Growth Director Sarah Van Meter Program Quality Director David Kincade Immediate Past District Director Yolandea Wood Administration Manager Rebecca Jordan Finance Manager Tom Coscia Parliamentarian Lisa Campbell Division A Director Jackie Kam-Blackard Division B Director Willie Blue, DTM Division E Director Aiden McDonnell Area 1 Director Kelly Lawson Brendan Akos, Area 4 Director Charice Manor Area 6 Director Raquel DeSouza Area 7 Director Margret Mathews Area 10 Director Area 10 Director Area 10 Director Area 10 Director Cheryl Hammond Area 12 Director Area 13 Director Area 13 Director Area 14 Director Area 15 Director Area 16 Director Area 17 Director Area 17 Director Area 18 Director Area 19 Director Area 17 Director		

31.

32.	Paul Jimenez	Area 22 Director	Υ
J = .		7 11 GG 22 2 11 GG1G1	•